Top 5 Wednesday: Sequels Wanted!

Hello! This week’s T5W topic is: “Stand-alone’s that you wish had a sequel or the last118368 book in the series that you wish wasn’t the last.”  T5W is a weekly book meme and you can find the Goodreads group here, if you would like to find out more or join in.

Any self-respecting bookworm will have suffered from a condition sometimes referred to as “Book Hangover”. It is the experience of feeling bereft after finishing a really amazing book. It is best cured by the consumption of another great book, but, alas, when compared to the book that created the problem in the first place, it is often difficult to find a book up to the task.

This is where sequels come in handy. If you finish a book and begin to feel a book hangover coming on, you can grab the sequel and continue on with the same characters, story, author – it’s not always guaranteed to be as good as its predecessor, but it usually helps.

But a lot of great books are stand alone. And all series have to end at some point. So here are my top 5 books that I wish had sequels:

  • Seraphina/Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman. I want more! This fantasy duology about dragons is brilliant, engaging and very original. The second book wasn’t as great as the first, the plot wasn’t as focused, but I would love to know more about these characters.

 

  • Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman. I just loved this book and want to spend more time in London Below.

 

  • Faery Rebels series by R J Anderson. I mentioned this series on last week’s Top Ten Tuesday for underrated books and I seriously want a conclusion to it! The first trilogy ended very neatly, but the ones after it – Swift and Nomad – felt like part of a larger story that never appeared.

books-904x529

 

  • Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys. One of my favourite books of all time. I would love a sequel!

 

  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. How cool would a book about a modern day Night Circus be? Just think about that for a second, if you will.

 

So what are your desperately wanted sequels? Or do prefer stand-alone’s? Please let me know!

lizard

 

 

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Sequels Wanted!

  1. thefourthmonthblog says:

    I wish there were sequels to both of Jessie Burton’s books. I just love those worlds! However, I suppose half the magic is in its brevity. One glimpse and it’s gone! Some series can go into serious overkill (*cough* Sookie Stackhouse novels *cough*) so sometimes I do prefer a standalone.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thelibrarylizard says:

      I’ve read the Miniaturist but I’ve not read The Muse yet – I’ve got a copy though, so I’ll start it once I finish the books I’m reading the now. But I get what you mean about wanting more of The Miniaturist – the setting was just amazing and I’d love see more of it! I feel like sometimes some stories are just supposed to be one book, not more, but yeah, quite a few series go on waaay too long. Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. AJ says:

    I could definitely use a Neverwhere sequel or even a spinoff. That would be cool too!
    However, I enjoy when a book is a standalone, especially if it has a good epilogue-that satisfies my need for completion.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

