Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag!

Hey guys! So I was tagged by the delightful icebreaker694 to do the Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag, which freaks me out itself because where is this year going? Icebreaker694’s blog exists here and you should go check it out, it’s really good. 🙂

Best Book You’ve Read Yet in 2016:

Just one? Well, I recently did a post about my Favourite Books of 2016 So Far, but I guess that if I absolutely had to pick one…. Nope. Still stuck. I’m just going to make this jointly between The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater and Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte.

ravenkingcoverjpg9780141199085

Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2016:

Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray. This was well worth the long wait and even better than it’s predecessor, The Diviners. Can’t wait to see where this series goes next. For those of you who are interested, it’s a paranormal/historical set in 1920s New York.

16060716

New Release You Haven’t Read Yet But Want To:

A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab. I loved the first book and I keep seeing really positive reviews about the sequel, but I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. Can’t wait!

9780765376473_custom-beb32b59122501248f3146f1e29b7cf8608e94b4-s400-c85

Most Anticipated Release fro the Second Half of the Year:

CROOKED KINGDOM BY LEIGH BARDUGO. I NEED THIS MORE THAN OXYGEN.

22299763

Biggest Disappointment of 2016 So Far:

Emma by Jane Austen. Sorry Austen fans, but I shall hang my head in shame. I just wasn’t feeling it. It’s not put me off though – I’m going to leave it a while but I definitely want to get around to reading another of Austen’s works.

9780141199528

 

Biggest Surprise:

The Chimes by Anna Smaill. Honestly, this was an impulse buy based on an interesting synopsis and lovely cover. No regrets! Quirkiest dystopian I’ve ever read.

WP_20160509_10_09_57_Rich (2)

Favourite New Author:

Virginia Woolf. Who technically isn’t new – quite the opposite in fact – but who was new to me this year. I’m definitely going to read more of her work.

 

Newest Fictional Crush:

So I finally got around to reading Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo this year. I read Smoke and Bone a long time ago and whilst I didn’t dislike it I wasn’t exactly wowed either, so I thought I wouldn’t continue with the series. Then Six of Crows happened. One of my favourite premises for a book is: fantasy thieves. Honestly, write that on a book and I’ll buy it. Which is what happened with Six of Crows, which is now sitting on my favourites shelf because it is that brilliant.17415685-_uy200_

So after reading Six of Crows I thought I’d give the Grisha trilogy another go, picking up Siege and Storm. It’s still not amazing, but not bad either – I liked it more than book one. But you know what I loved about it? (*insert dreamy sigh*) Nikolai Lantsov. He gets all the best quotes in this book:

“When people say impossible, they usually mean improbable.”

“Anything worth doing starts as a bad idea.”

 

Newest Favourite Character:

Ling Chan from Lair of Dreams. Such a bad-ass. Such a genius. Such a lovable character.

 

Book That Made You Cry:

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys. To be honest every time I read a book by this genius I end up sobbing at one point. Also, a perfect excuse to use my favourite gif!

giphy

 

Favourite Book to Film Adaptation:

Room. This film hit me with the feels, I was crying. Again.

giphy

 

Favourite Post I’ve Done This Year:

The Bookish Time Travel Tag. My first Tag! If you want to take part, feel free!

 

Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought This Year:

The Muse by Jessie Burton, literally three days ago. I got the hardcover. It’s stunning. The pages are red. I think this is what love feels like.

WP_20160712_15_08_12_Rich (2)

 

What Book Do You Need to Read by the End of the Year:

Besides all of them…? Probably Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell. It’s been on my TBR shelf for ages and I know I’m probably going to really love it, but I keep putting it off. It’s on this month’s TBR though, so hopefully.

WP_20160703_13_07_34_Pro (2)

I Tag:

Readilyambitions

AJ @ Rather Quite Lovely

Av8tor1988 @ Inside My Minds

imyril @ x + 1

The Fourth Month

If you’ve already done this tag – sorry! If I haven’t tagged you and you want to take part just imagine that your blog appeared on the list above and go for it anyway. Thanks again to icebreaker694 for tagging me!

So what about you guys? Has anyone read any of these books? Anyone want to read any of these? Thoughts? Please let me know!

lizard

 

15 thoughts on “Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag!

  1. thefourthmonthblog says:

    Yay thank you for the tag! Good choices – I love Wuthering Heights and I bought the first Raven Boys book to read this year so I’m looking forward to that. As for The Muse, I’m sure you know how much I love it. And Emma… I also didn’t like it. I am yet to be converted to the Austen ways I guess!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. AJ says:

    Thanks so much for tagging me 🙂 It was definitely interesting to do this since, as of June, I had only read 2 books-it was why I started blogging.
    The Muse is drop-dead-gorgeous. Wow.
    Here’s my link incase I didn’t link back to ya properly!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks says:

    Your reading taste is so varied and diverse across genres – I love it! Wuthering Heights is one of my favorite classics, perhaps because I still find myself ridiculously fascinated by Heathcliff’s character- even after all these years. Lair of Dreams and a Gathering of Shadows were both so wonderful; Bray and Schwab really are two of the best YA authors out there. 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

    • thelibrarylizard says:

      Thanks for commenting! I agree with you about Heathcliff – his character is so interesting. I’m glad you love Bray and Schwab as well – I keep meaning to read their other series/books because I love the Diviners series and I loved A Darker Shade of Magic. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

