Liebster Award!

Great news! I was nominated by The Whimsical Chick for a Liebster Award! Thank you!
tumblr_nfyccouxss1tq4of6o1_500

Here are the rules:

  1. Post the award on your blog.
  2. Acknowledge the blogger who nominated you.
  3. Answer the questions assigned to you.
  4. Give 10 random facts about yourself.
  5. Nominate 10 deserving bloggers for the award.
  6. Ask 10 questions to your nominees.

***

So onward to the questions…

1.What was your favourite childhood book?

Childhood me wasn’t always that much of a bookworm. I know, how horrible. But my mum used to read to me and sister quite a lot when we were little, and one of the books she read was Terry Pratchett’s The Wee Free Men. ย Fast forward to when I was ten/eleven years old and beginning to really enjoy reading. I found a copy of The Wee Free Men in an old box of stuff when we moved house and read it again – I loved it. I think it’s partly the reason my favourite genre is fantasy.

9780552562904

2.What is one instance where you liked a movie better than the book it was based off of?

The Hunger Games. I liked the books quite a bit, but I enjoyed watching the films more.

the_hunger_games_cover

3.What is one instance where you liked the book better than the movie?

Basically most book to movie adaptations? For some reason Stardust came to mind – I preferย the book to the film.

stardustfilm4

4.Who is your role model?

I don’t really have one…? There’s people I admire quite a lot, but I’ve never just had one person I want to be like. I think it’s better to find inspiration from a mix of people and focus on using this to make a better, more well-rounded version of yourself. It’s kind of like being a patchwork quilt.

5.If you could go back in time, what era would you go to? Would you change anything?

I already kind of answered this question when I done my Bookish Time Travel Tag – I’d visit the Victorian era because I find it fascinating. And they have top hats. I wouldn’t change anything, because messing around with time just seems way too risky. I’d probably start the apocalypse by accident or something.

6.What is the most time you have re-read a book?

I’ve re-read Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland over ten times by now…

alice_in_wonderland

7.What is your favourite food to snack on while reading?

I don’t normally snack and read – when you’re as clumsy as I am, that’s living a little too dangerously. However, I’ve found that popcorn is a pretty safe snack not only for watching films but reading too. I always get sweet and salty mix. Best of both that way.

8.Who would you dress as for a literary costume party?

Good question. I’d go as the Mad Hatter probably – that way I can wear a quirky top hat!

9.If you could recommend one book to everybody reading this, what would it be?

The Collected Works of A J Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin. This book isn’t perfect – it can be a little sappy at times, at others a little simple. But it’s one of my favourites. It’s a book about bookish people. It’s wonderful and heart-warming.

collectedfikry

10.What is your favourite food?

Chocolate cheesecake and fresh strawberries, with a little bit of cream. YUM!

***

So those were my answers. Now I’m supposed to give you ten facts about my wonderful self, but I’m going to cheat instead and leave a link to my Top Ten Tuesday post Facts About Me. ๐Ÿ™‚

***

Now for the nominations! *insert drum roll*

kdrewthebookworm

A Reader’s Whimsy

If Mermaids Wore Suspenders

Rather Quite Lovely

tiareleine

Books, Vertigo and Tea

icebreaker694

booksandbake1

Stark Reviews

Bookspoils

Questions for my nominees:

  1. What is one of your favourite quotes from a book?
  2. Favourite animal/creature from a book? (e.g. hippogriffs from Harry Potter)
  3. Do you prefer to read at night or in the morning?
  4. What three adjectives/traits would you use to describe yourself?
  5. What’s your bookish pet peeve?
  6. You can only read one genre of book for the rest of your life: which genre would it be?
  7. Is there a book/series that you really liked but that had an ending you hated?
  8. What’s your Hogwarts house?
  9. Do you have a favourite film or T.V. show?
  10. What’s your favourite part of blogging?

 

Thanks again to The Whimsical Chick for nominating me for this award! And I’m also going to take a moment to just to say thank you to the people who have followed this blog and who have liked/commented on my posts – it means a lot! I love talking books with you all!

lizard

12 thoughts on “Liebster Award!

Leave a Reply

