Top 10 Tuesday: Things Books Have Made Me Want To Learn!

Hello lovelies! It’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do or Learn About After Reading Them.

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Here is the link if you would like to know more about it/take part!

Books, books, books – as well as teaching me things, they also make me want to learn things. The issue is that I’m usually too lazy/clumsy/untalented to pick up these new skills or it’s actually impossible to. Sigh. I can dream though, right? Hence my list:

  • Archery – various Fantasy books.
  • Alchemy – Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series by Michael Scott
  • How to be an Animagus – Harry Potter. Being a bird would be cool, except for the part where I’m scared of heights and flying. Maybe a fox would be better actually…
  • Paint – The Muse by Jessie Burton. I have zero artistic skills, but I’d love to have some.
  • Horse riding – The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater.
  • How to drive – The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater.
  • Mythology – various fantasy books.
  • How to sail – Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo. Ahoy there!
  • Cartography (map-making) – The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave.
  • How to play a musical instrument – Seraphina by Rachel Hartman.

dr-seuss-reading-quote

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So how about you? Any matches? Any other cool talents I should know about? Please let me know!

lizard

17 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Things Books Have Made Me Want To Learn!

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Archery is SO popular with YA fantasy protagonists, haha. I feel like so many of them can shoot an arrow – maybe it’s just a cool thing to do, I dunno. I’d like to learn, though. πŸ™‚

    And I’ve never heard of The Girl of Ink and Stars but you mentioning cartography makes me want to read it! Seems like a pretty interesting skill to learn.

    Here’s my TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jamie Wu says:

    Being an animagus would be awesome. I’m scared of heights too, but birds are definitely a good choice. They’re inconspicuous enough and can fly anywhere. I’ll have to conquer my fear though.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. imyril says:

    I totally blame books for my interest in archery – so many awesome characters are good with a bow!

    I love that you included sailing. That should have been on my list (with a nod to Arthur Ransome – I grew up reading Swallows and Amazons books πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • thelibrarylizard says:

      I love being on boats, so it’s something I’ve picked up from that as well as reading. It would just be a lot of fun I think. And there are a disproportionate number of protagonists running around and being badass at archery, right? It’s inevitable all of us book worms are going to want to learn it! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

