Top 10 Tuesday: Favourite Books To Complement A History Lesson!

Top 10 Tuesday!!!

This week’s topic is:

August 30: Back To School Freebie — anything “back to school” related like 10 favorite books I read in school, books I think should be required reading, Required Reading For All Fantasy Fans, required reading for every college freshman, Books to Pair With Classics or Books To Complement A History Lesson, books that would be on my classroom shelf if I were a teacher

I picked books to complement a history lesson, but instead of giving many examples of good books about a specific era, I tried to vary the historical context a bit. Enjoy!

***

Top 10 Tuesday is a weekly book meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Check it out here.

***

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – Nazis Germany

51a99tea6il-_sx317_bo1204203200_

The Diviners Series by Libba Bray – 1920s New York

16060716

Sunset Song by Lewis Grassic Gibbon – Scotland and WW1

51vxbggjbjl

Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke – Napoleonic Wars

jonathan_strange_and_mr_norrell_cover

Animal Farm by George Orwell – Communist Russia

animalfarm

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou – Racism in America, 1930s (ish?)

i-know-why-the-caged-bird-sings1

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys – 1950s New Orleans

out-of-the-easy

Witch Child by Celia Rees – Salem Witch Trials

witch-child

The Muse by Jessie Burton – 1960s London/1930s rural Spain

3598d33e00000578-0-image-a-64_1466722082464

Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys – Victorian Colonialism

829372-_uy200_

***

What about you? Any favourite books that would help liven up a history lesson? Please let me know!

lizard

 

 

13 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Favourite Books To Complement A History Lesson!

  1. tiareleine says:

    I cannot wait to read Lair of Dreams. I’m rereading The Diviners right now so that I’ll actually remember the plot once I start LoD, and I think I love it more than I did the first time.

    I kind of want to read Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell… except that it’s so unbelievably long. The show just got added to Netflix and I’m trying to decide if I should read the book first… or… well, I should read it first, but I’m trying to decide if I’m going to, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lex says:

    This was such an interesting take on the topic! I’m always looking for new books on the Salem Witch Trails and anything that has to do with the 20’s. Thanks for the list!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. projectedlibrarian says:

    Did you ever read the Royal Diaries series by Scholastic? They were awesome! I learned so much more about history from that series than I ever did in school!

    Like

Leave a comment