Book Review: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Read: July, 2016

Genre: Contemporary, Romance

***

attachments

***

Summary from Goodreads (link here):

It’s 1999 and the internet is still a novelty. At a newspaper office, two colleagues, Beth and Jennifer, e-mail back and forth, discussing their lives in hilarious details, from love troubles to family dramas. And Lincoln, a shy IT guy responsible for monitoring e-mails, spends his hours reading every exchange.

At first their e-mails offer a welcome diversion, but the more he reads, the more he finds himself falling for one of them. By the time Lincoln realises just how head-over-heels he is, it’s too late to introduce himself.

After a series of close encounters, Lincoln eventually decides he must follow his heart… and find out if there is such a thing as love before first sight.

***

Review:

This book is fluffy kittens. It’s hot chocolate and freshly baked goods. It’s warm hugs.

In other words, Attachments is a whole heap of sugary sweet cuteness.

I’m not usually a contemporary reader, but I always make an exception for Rainbow Rowell books – they’re amazing. Her writing style is brilliant and endlessly humorous, especially in the email exchanges between Beth and Jennifer; these chapters feel like a realistic email conversation between friends, whilst at same time building up enough personality and backstory for each character in order to let the reader get to know and like them. I love how Rowell shows their friendship, how they’re always there for each other and supportive, forgiving of each other’s mistakes and willing to be honest about things.

This book was a fabulously quick read – honestly, I managed it in a day. I’ve been needing something lighthearted and fun lately, and this ticked all the boxes. It’s got a nice feeling of resolution at the end and the story never drags.

Also, I’m adding a little shout out to my favourite character, Doris. What a lady! Seriously, I want a Doris to share dinner with and give me useful life advice. She’s awesome.

So, yeah. I don’t really have much more to say…? Attachments is just a solid book, filled with adorable relationships and funny exchanges. It’s the perfect uplifting summer read.

***

Best Quote/s:

“So, what if, instead of thinking about solving your whole life, you just think about adding additional good things. One at a time. Just let your pile of good things grow.”

“I’m too old to be lying to other people’s mothers,” Doris said.

***

If you like this try:

Rainbow Rowell’s other books, Fangirl and Eleanor and Park.

***

Has any one else read Attachments? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

lizard

 

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

  1. nerdyisbeautiful says:

    I just recently read Attachments too!! I loved it so much, especially Doris!! I haven’t read Carry On yet, but I would definitely recommend you check out Landline!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment